Lead me, Lord.

I lead a small group of first graders at my church and what they talked about was trusting in Gods plan and realizing that He is in charge of your life. That same day I went to Passion City Church and they were talking about the same thing which was incredible to me, so I felt called to write a blog post about it. Trying to teach a group of first graders this concept is difficult, but I find it hardest to learn myself. There is just something about trying to wrap your mind around the fact that everything God puts us through has a purpose. You find yourself often wanting a certain something to happen, and then when it doesn’t you catch yourself becoming frustrated and angry with God asking why over and over.

The preacher at Passion City asked some super important questions surrounding this topic; “What am I doing here God?” “Is there any purpose to your plan?” “Is there any purpose to our pain?” and they all speak so much truth. When you find yourself in a place you never expected you just stand around with a hurt heart, and a confused mind. It is hard as humans to gain perspective on certain seasons of our life, but we have to look through a God like lens and then can we see that there is a purpose to it.

God sent His son to adopt us into His family, to bring us up from our brokenness. He took on all of our difficulties and everything we have been through just so he could relate. He knows exactly what it feels like to be homeless, to be tempted, to feel unloved, unworthy and any weight any of us have carried on our shoulders, He gets it. Even though at times you think to yourself “Why God?” and you wonder if He even understands what you’re going through. The Lord has come to us, because He wants to know us and He hopes that we want to know Him. I often forget just how much our Father knows about my heart and just how closely He is listening to my prayers and my cries out for help when I feel so lost and alone. So when I feel as if my world is crumbling into my pieces I can take to heart that God has something so eye opening and good coming my way, and I know for a fact He gets so excited to bring us to those parts in our life.

We don’t get to know all the details of our life, but we get to know the one who does. Life is hard and comes with many challenges, but without all of that we would never get to grow and learn. Our pain is used for proclamation and to help others that are walking through that certain season of life.

“He comforts us every time we have trouble, so when others have trouble, we can comfort them with the same comfort God gave us.” 2 Corinthians 1:4

Our smaller story that God is writing gets to be used in His big story and that is what puts purpose behind the pain. We get to say “Okay God, put me in.” and live for all He has planned. He needs us to be part of the bigger picture, and that brings so much joy and excitement knowing that the story I am living now is serving our Heavenly Father and He is going to me for something so huge and incredible. Me and you, We are ready to take on the pain and the hardships because we know that there is purpose behind it all. There is  purpose behind the path He has you on right now and it is going to be one of the greatest stories ever written.

Leave a Reply

