letting fear paralyze faith

I often tend to let fear take control of my life rather than giving God the reigns and trusting Him. That seems to be one of the hardest parts of being a Christian is fully letting God know that He is in control and you are okay with whatever He has in mind. We will come across certain events in our lives that make our hearts beat ten times too fast or our knees go weak just by the mention of it. Trying to wrap my mind around the fact that we are being watched over and taken care of by our Heavenly Father who knows exactly what the outcome will be of what is making our hearts shrink in fear.

It is so easy and comfortable to think that you’re in control of your life, but that in the end only seems to cause more damage than you think. We will never truly know what is right for us as humans that is just natural. God knows what we need to grow in our faith and flourish, and even though at the time it may seem crazy He truly has our heart in mind when taking us through certain seasons of our life. I imagine God looking at us during hard or challenging times saying “You’re growing from this, just keep pushing on.” Fear gets in the way change, because it is absolutely terrifying and as human we want to just run away and stick to what we have conformed to. That is not what faith is, we were made for so much more.

“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.
    I’ve called your name. You’re mine.
When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.
    When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.
When you’re between a rock and a hard place,
    it won’t be a dead end— Isaiah 43:1 MSG

“You’re mine.” “I’ll be there with you.” with words like that coming from our loving father how can we be afraid? Whenever I would be facing a rough patch in my life my best friend would always make sure to reassure me that God is constantly wrapping His arms around us and telling us everything would be okay. God is the one standing there cheering you on even when you feel like the world is against you and wants nothing more than to see you fall. He is the one telling you if you fall down seven times you stand up eight and keep moving.

Going through life living in fear of the future, the outcome of something, or even what others think of you leaves us drained and walking away from some astounding opportunities. I want to live a life full of light and eagerness for what is to come. I don’t want to stand in the shadows because I let fear stand in the way of what God wants for me. He works way too hard on your story to just have you walk away from something that He knows you are more than capable of.

Life is way too short to not take that leap of faith or say whats on your mind. You are capable and stronger than you think, trust me.

4 thoughts on “letting fear paralyze faith

Leave a Reply

